Climate Working Group

Climate Working Group Logo

The Climate Working Group (CWG) is a creative assembly of researchers, scholars, artists, activists, and organizations working to address our climate crisis while bridging the sciences, arts, humanities, and policy. The CWG works on collaborative short-term and long-term projects for public audiences, and serves as a network for resource sharing, feedback, and opportunities to engage across disciplines.

The Climate Working Group is a proud partner of the Cities, Cultures, and Climate Change Working Group at the Institute for Public Knowledge.


  • Akin ‘AK’ Adams, Director, XXICR LLC Consulting, Musician (BYZAR), Producer, Engineer, Audio Designer
  • Emily Anderson, The Illuminator Artist Collective
  • Cleo Barnett, Curator, Artist, NYU Alumni & Program Director, Amplifier
  • Amy Brady, Senior Editor, Chicago Review of Books / Deputy Publisher, Guernica
  • Rachel Brown, The Illuminator artist collective
  • Alexandra Chang, Curator of Special Projects and Director of Global Arts Programs, Asian/Pacific/American Institute at New York University
  • Jeffrey Cohen, Professor of English, George Washington University / Director, GW Medieval and Early Modern Studies Institute
  • Stephan Crawford, Founder and Executive Producer, The ClimateMusic Project
  • Ashley Dawson, Professor of English, CUNY Graduate Center
  • Michael Dorsey, Senior Program Officer for Sustainability, US National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine
  • Kevin Fellezs, Pacific Climate Circuits Group/Music/Institute for Research in African American Studies, Columbia University
  • Elizabeth Ferris, ISIM Research Professor, Georgetown University / Non-Resident Senior Fellow in Foreign Policy at the Brookings Institution, International Humanitarian Response
  • Laurie Goldman, Director of Public Engagement, The ClimateMusic Project
  • Karenna Gore, Director, Center for Earth Ethics, Union Theological Seminary in the City of New York
  • Joel Green, AURA Scientist / Office of Public Outreach, Space Telescope Science Institute
  • Max Gruenig, President, Ecologic Institute US
  • Justin Brice Guariglia, Artist
  • Virginia Hanusik, Photographer
  • Karen Holmberg, Institute for Public Knowledge, Climate Change, Cultures, and Cities, New York University
  • Kathy Jetnil-Kijiner, Poet and Spoken Word Artist
  • Ayana Elizabeth Johnson, Founder and President, Ocean Collectiv
  • David Kanter, Assistant Professor, Department of Environmental Studies, New York University
  • Noel Kassewitz, Art Director, DuPont Underground
  • Michél Legendre, Action League Organizer, Climate Campaign, Corporate Accountability International
  • Jonathan Lo, Designer, Public Assembly
  • Thomas Looser, Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies Program, Department of East Asian Studies, New York University
  • Miranda Massie, Director, The Climate Museum
  • Sonali McDermid, Assistant Professor, Department of Environmental Studies, New York University
  • Nathaniel Meyer, Associate Director, Climate Campaign, Corporate Accountability International
  • DJ Spooky aka Paul D. Miller, Composer, Multi-media Artist, Editor, Author
  • Stephen Mills, Director of Strategic Partnerships, Climate Reality Project
  • Nicholas Mirzoeff, Professor, Department of Media, Culture, and Communication, New York University
  • Jacqueline Patterson, Director, NAACP Environmental and Climate Justice Program
  • Anne Rademacher, Associate Professor, Departments of Anthropology and Environmental Studies, New York University
  • Favianna Rodriguez, Interdisciplinary Artist, Executive Director of CultureStrike, Interim Director of Citizen Engagement Lab
  • Chris Rogy, The Illuminator Artist Collective
  • David Ross, Managing Director, DuPont Underground
  • Gavin Schmidt, Director, NASA Goddard Institute of Space Studies
  • Ben Schreiber, Senior Political Strategist, Friends of the Earth
  • Fran Schulberg, Executive Producer, The Climate Music Project
  • Melanie Taylor, Director of Exhibition Design, Guggenheim
  • Kaio Thompson, Ordained Minister from Samoa / MDiv Student at Union Theological Seminar, The Center for Earth Ethics
  • Mary Ting, Artist / Departments of Studio Art and Sustainability and Environmental Justice, CUNY John Jay College
  • Jerome Whitington, Visiting Assistant Professor, Department of Anthropology, New York University
  • Stephen Wilkes, Photographer
  • Katrina Wyman, Director, Environmental and Energy Law Program, New York University School of Law
  • Felicia Young, Founder and Executive Director, Earth Celebrations

Past programs

Science & Climate Change: A Series of Events in Celebration of the Marches on April 20-29, 2017